Jason hints at new features coming to IL-2 soon

Every so often Jason Williams, IL-2 Lead Producer, likes to post in the forums and give us a little taste of what he’s working with or thinking about. Today he posted about 4K monitors and it sounds really interesting!

So I finally got a 4K monitor and I am comparing it to the VR experience, which as we already know is awesome. I’m playing the latest non-public build which includes some new stuff which I won’t get into yet, but I gotta say I’m really feeling the 4K fun. The increased resolution coupled with our previous performance enhancements and tweaks like the sharpen filter plus some other new things you’ll learn about soon – just makes for a stunning display and flying experience. On just 2x AA and no Supersampling there isn’t a jaggy to be found and the objects, especially planes with 4K skins look very sharp and super real. Terrain looks amazingly too.

This is just a bit of what he was saying but it all sounds pretty interesting. I have a 1080p monitor and although I’m holding off on 4K technology for a bit longer, its encouraging that it works so well with IL-2 and looks as good as it does! Plus he hints at “some other new things” that we’ll be learning about soon.

I’m intrigued!

 

Read the rest of Jason’s update and the responses in the forum right here!

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Pixel Dust says:

    One of the best investments I have made recently is a higher resolution monitor. I’m presently using Dell’s 2716DG with a GeForce video card and G-Sync. This combination has eliminated any fuss that comes with configuring for best frame-rates at the highest resolution.

    I’m ever hopeful that VR’s resolution will increase dramatically, or that a beautiful curved 4K G-Sync will arrive.

    Either would be a dandy addition to simulation titles.

    Like

    1. ShamrockOneFive says:

      I like the sounds of a curved 4K. That would be pretty good for immersive gaming next to a full VR headset. Now, if they can produce one of those with an IPS panel and for a good price… I’d be onboard! I’m sure it’ll be a few years.

      Like

  2. Pixel Dust says:

    like this, maybe?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ShamrockOneFive says:

      Well that’s pretty impressive! It better be for $2000!

      Like

Leave a Reply

