DCS Easter Sale

DCS World Weekend news dropped earlier today with a pretty big ‘Easter sale’ on nearly all DCS modules including many of the third party products. The 40% of sale lasts until April 24 so you have a little time to decide if you want to do a little damage to your pocketbook!

Modules-180-mix.jpg

The sale also includes DCS: Nevada Test and Training Range.

I took the plunge and picked up the Mirage 2000C which I’ve been eyeing for weeks if not months. It’s the first DCS aircraft I’ve purchased with a clickable cockpit and full fidelity flight systems so it’ll be a while before I can get it properly flying in the air but I am excited to try it out while continuing my Su27 training.

M2000c-parked
First time on the tarmac and I have no idea how to start the M-2000C up… yet.

EDIT: I had a little extra time tonight to mess around with the system and thanks to a helpful YouTube tutorial I’m now able to start the engine with just a little head scratching.

M2000C-engineone.jpg
Engine all fired up!
5 Comments Add yours

  1. Joshua Cook says:

    Congratulations! By the way, what controller are you using for the modern aircraft?

    Like

    1. ShamrockOneFive says:

      At the moment I have a bit of a Frankenstein setup with a VKB Gladiator (non-pro) for my flight stick and a X-52 HOTAS to back it up. If its suitable, I’d like to get VKB’s upcoming throttle system.

      I can see where some stick features really work better on modern types. That’s going to be a bit of a challenge to take on.

      What are you using?

      Like

  2. Joshua Cook says:

    I’m embarrassed to say that I have several HOTAS units at my disposal. For modern day, single-engine fast movers like the Mirage, I use the CH Figherstick and CH Pro Throttle. For WWI and WWII I’ve been using an MS Sidewinder along with a Saitek throttle quadrant, but, recently I received a VKB Gladiator Pro MkII as a gift. I’m looking forward to the VKB modern grip that they are working on. I also have a Thrustmaster Warthog. I rarely use the Warthog stick anymore. For me, it is just too heavy for most fighter aircraft. I do use the Warthog throttle though for twin engine, post WWII stuff. For WWII and WWI sims I use a second Saitek quadrant for multi-engine aircraft.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. ShamrockOneFive says:

      That’s a pretty good bit of hardware there! Seems like CH is probably ideal for the modern stuff. I have to say at that the Gladiator is fantastic for WWII birds for sure. I’ll make it work for DCS too 🙂

      Like

      1. Joshua Cook says:

        The CH stuff is okay. It’s really my old standby. The throttle isn’t as sophisticated as the Thrustmaster, You probably have a better throttle in that X-52, but nothing seems to beat CH gear for durability. Assuming you don’t try to use it as a hammer, CH gear will usually last for a decade or two, maybe more. I’ve never actually worn any of their stuff out, just traded or sold it away, and then decided later that I shouldn’t have. I’ve been simming since 1987. Started with the original Falcon, and for 2/3rds of that time CH equipment has been either my primary or backup kit. That said, I keep finding myself looking for something a bit more “up-to-date” both in programing software and the sensors used. The spring on the CH is also fairly soft, which makes me feel like I’m cheating when flying non-FBW aircraft.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

