IL-2’s VR is amazing

Word from the community is that patch 2.009s introduction of VR into IL-2 is pretty amazing. Are you ready to jump into IL-2s VR supporting world?

I don’t have a VR headset so I won’t be doing a formal review of VR in IL-2: Battle of Stalingrad/Battle of Moscow/Battle of Kuban but I thought it might be fun to take some of the comments from the IL-2 forum and collect some of the responses.

From Toxin1:

Flew VR last night and can report that it was well worth the wait.  It was the most exhilarating combat flight sim experience  to date and that is saying a lot.  I flew for almost 3 hours online in an expert server and it felt as real as it gets. Thank you to the Dev Team.

From OrLok:

Well, what can I say?

Far clearer for me than DCS or WT and absolutely no motion sickness, even in extreme maneuvers.

My only gripe is I don’t seem to be able to adjust my seating so im [sic] a little low compared to the sight, but im [sic] still playing with key settings.

Brilliant job, guys and girls.

VR is superb for this game, situational awareness is wonderful.

I didnt [sic] think the initial release would be this good.

From coconut:

I’m really impressed with your work, devs!

So many great things I’d like to say about VR, but I don’t want to spend time on that now. No problems with nausea, but I took it easy with the yak. I do feel a bit “tipsy” now, the way one feels after spinning.

The only problem is with the hardware. The low resolution is indeed a step back. Those who are tight on cash, spare your money until the resolution improves. It’s unclear how long it will take for Oculus and HTC to improve things, but with Pimax already building headsets with better screens, and for cheaper, the big names might find themselves forced to push new models sooner than people think.

From Bearfoot:

Ok, without a doubt, the most beautiful VR experience is the He-111

Always thought that this was one of the most beautiful aircraft of the era, but never really felt drawn to fly it very much.

Until today.

Just could not get enough of flying this bird in VR.

That big glasshouse cockpit, the sense of space etc. all made me want to do nothing else but sightseeing low and slow across the gorgeous Russian countryside for hours!

From Jade_Monkey:

Its absolutely amazing. All the gauges and buttons pop up, the view through the glass nose is awesome (also check out pe2 glass floor).

The gunner stations are amazing too, the guns feel HUGE and very real.

This makes me realize how warped the views are with TIR. I also have the habit of zooming out to the max, which makes it worse.

Every plane feels like the wings are huge but in a realistic way (the stuka surprised me).

Overwhelmingly positive feedback with a few glitches

Players with VR headsets are reporting that VR in IL-2 patch 2.009 is a pretty amazing experience almost overwhelmingly. A number of players who were holding off purchases until VR was released appear to be popping up saying that they are jumping head-first with the series thanks to VR. Any time we get a few more fans to jump into the series is good news in my opinion as it helps ensure future expansions and development.

There have been some hiccups to be sure. Several players have had trouble getting their sets to work and it seems that players who are using sets outside of the well known HTC Vive and Oculus Rift headsets seem to be having more issues although many have still gotten their sets to work.

Patch 2.009 has not been a perfect release either. There have been some glitches and a third hot-fix is anticipated to arrive soon. I’ll be getting into those glitches and into some of the new graphical features in an upcoming post.

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

