The joys of free flight

The other night I decided to take a bunch of IL-2 aircraft out for a spin but instead of my usual campaign mission or quick mission battle I decided to just do some free flight missions and just enjoy the sim and flying. Its something I highly recommend everyone do from time to time.

The great thing about most flight sims is that they are sandboxes. What do I mean by that? I mean that you can play them however you want. Sometimes that means a non-combat mission, in a combat flight simulator, is in order.

The great thing about a flight sim is really the flying. Everything is peripheral to that.

free-mig3.jpg

Flying the MiG-3, Yak-1B, and FW190A-3 on my free flight journeys I did night time takeoff and landing, sight seeing, star watching, and some crazy aerobatic stunts. Sometimes I flew in a straight line or put the aircraft into a dive and just enjoyed the whole experience of pulling out with only meters to spare.

It’s a great feeling and sometimes its important to just load up a plane on the tarmac, taxi, takeoff and fly.

free-nightyak.jpg

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Pixel Dust says:

    You are so right; I used to taker a lightly loaded F-16 up in Falcon, for just the same experience. You fight like you train, or so they say.

    Like

Leave a Reply

