My X-52 is getting a little old…

For 9 years I have been flying the virtual skies with my trusty Saitek X-52 joystick and HOTAS (Hands on Throttle and Stick). Through its not a perfect setup I’ve had a great time using it, however, age seems to be catching up to it.

When I started test flying the Yak-1B I noticed that my rudder movements seemed a little uncoordinated and I later found that the rudder is starting to develop a mind of its own. Some people might call the behavior ‘spiking’ and that is exactly what it looks like is happening any time I move the stick on any axis.

I’m assuming something electronic in the sensor systems that control the yaw, pitch and roll inputs is beginning to experience some issues.

This is obviously concerning as it probably means that I’m going to have to spend some money sooner than later… And I have to find a new stick.

Do I go with the latest X-52, which is essentially unchanged, the new X-52 Pro, the new VKB Gladiator or Gladitor Pro + Pedals (an expensive setup), or something else I haven’t considered…  A lot to consider!

What does everyone else fly with these days? I would love to hear about your flight setup!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Blackwolf says:

    Spend the big bucks, I went from X-52 to CH fighter stick and ended up with the spiking again. Broke down and got the Warthog for 395.00 and have not regretted it one day. It is so sensitive it has improved my control of any aircraft in any sim.

    Like

    1. ShamrockOneFive says:

      I ended up ordering the VKB Gladiator. We’ll see how that works out.

      If it doesn’t then maybe the Warthog is the way to go. Do you have pedals with that?

      Like

Leave a Reply

