The best in IL-2 fan made trailers

A very special set of flight simmers over the years have taken their love of this niche genre to another level. They have spent hours and multi-gigabytes of hard drive space to record and edit together fan made trailers and music video type presentations.

The IL-2 series has been no stranger to some incredible fan made works and I thought for today’s post I would draw attention to some of the best that I have seen.

||N8||’s ‘Fly In Together’

This is an epic look at the IL-2 Battle of Stalingrad world and probably the tightest edited of any fan made trailer that I’ve seen. Relies on some effective use of some overlays and effects to add some interesting atmosphere and the camera work inside the game engine is spectacular. A great one to watch!

||N8||’s Stalingrad, an IL-2 Battle of Stalingrad Movie

A moody and epic soundtrack by M83 backs a powerful video with a lot of slow motion air combat, tight shots, and careful editing. Another masterpece by ||N8||.

Sakemonogatari’s ‘Introducing Yak-1’

During the Early Access period of IL-2: Battle of Stalingrad, Sakemonogatari could always be counted on to introduce each new plane as it arrived in the game. My favourite video that he did was always ‘Introducing Yak-1’. Done more as a music video than a trailer, I loved the approach here. It’s too bad he hasn’t done anything for IL-2: Battle of Moscow.

HHPauk’s ‘My World’

One of my go-to videos when I want to introduce someone to what a modern day flight simulator looks like. ‘My World’ shows off all of the different aspects of the game from the epic dogfights to bomber interception to bombing and dive bombing raids. It’s tightly edited and a real joy to watch.

HellKitten’s ‘Battle of Stalingrad Trailer (Fan Made)’

Incidentally this is HellKitten’s first attempt at a trailer for BoS and I’m putting it on the list because I think this is a great effort. It lacks some of the polish in the other videos I’ve listed here, however, the quality of shots and the overall presentation are excellent.

 

That’s all for now but I will be sure to revisit this subject in the future. I can’t wait to see what people do in the future!

Have you seen one that didn’t make the list? Let me know in the comments. I want to see as many of these as I can!

Leave a Reply

